3rd Jun 2014
One of the often surprising consequences of pleading guilty to a misdemeanor or felony drug offense, including possession of marijuana, is that your Georgia driver’s license will be suspended. Unfortunately, it does not matter if the offense is your first offense or whether it is a felony or misdemeanor. In fact, it doesn’t even matter if the drug offense had anything to do with your driving.
This Atlanta Traffic Attorney often hears from citizens who have plead guilty to relatively minor drug charges such as misdemeanor possession of marijuana, who have later been surprised to find out that their driver’s license has been suspended as a result of their guilty plea. Unfortunately, once a guilty plea is entered, there is almost nothing that can be done to undue the license suspension.
In Georgia, if you are convicted of possessing, distributing, or using a controlled substance, your driver’s license will be suspended. The suspension times vary depending on any prior drug convictions. A first offense will result in a suspended license for 180 days; a second offense will result in a suspended license for 2 years; and a third offense will result in a suspension for 5 years.
If you are charged with drug possession, it is important to contact an Atlanta Defense Attorney immediately. There are several ways to avoid the license suspension requirements and to keep a drug charge off of your record. Atlanta Attorney Lindsay Reese has years of experience handling drug cases including possession of marijuana, possession of cocaine, possession of heroin, possession of methamphetamine and trafficking. If you are charged with any drug offense, call Atlanta Attorney Lindsay Reese today for a free consultation to discuss your legal options!